Melinda's favourites book montage

The Mark of Athena
The Son of Neptune
The Lost Hero
The Last Olympian
The Battle of the Labyrinth
The Titan's Curse
The Sea of Monsters
The Lightning Thief
Throne of Glass
City of Glass
The Red Pyramid
City of Ashes
City of Bones
The Golden Door
The Farseekers
The Poison Diaries
Catching Fire
The Hunger Games

Melinda's favorite books »

Sunday, 30 June 2013


Life has gotten busy recently, and I also haven't had much time to do anything else that I love, such as writing and art stuff, so I have decided to put this blog on hiatus. It is likely that I will never come back, but I want to  keep it open just in case I want to start it up again in the future. I have really enjoyed blogging, and I will still read the books that I read on my Goodreads, but I probably won't read every book that I read, and I won't read as often. You can still contact me via my email and I will keep my twitter active. Thanks for sticking with me, it's been fun!


Friday, 28 June 2013

Review: The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Series: The Assassin's Curse #2
Publisher: Strange Chemistry
Published date: June 18th 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via, in exchange for a fair review.
Previous series reviews: The Assassin's Curse
Synopsis (from Goodreads):
After setting out to break the curse that binds them together, the pirate Ananna and the assassin Naji find themselves stranded on an enchanted island in the north with nothing but a sword, their wits, and the secret to breaking the curse: complete three impossible tasks. With the help of their friend Marjani and a rather unusual ally, Ananna and Naji make their way south again, seeking what seems to be beyond their reach.
Unfortunately, Naji has enemies from the shadowy world known as the Mists, and Ananna must still face the repercussions of going up against the Pirate Confederation. Together, Naji and Ananna must break the curse, escape their enemies — and come to terms with their growing romantic attraction.
The Pirate's Wish (The Assassin's Curse, #2)

So it has been a little while since I have actually written a review so I apologise if I am a little rusty. Before I begin, just a little warning that this will contain spoilers for the first book of the series. I read The Assassin’s Curse earlier in the year and I really enjoyed it, so I had been really looking forward to reading this.

This started off where The Assassin’s Curse left off, with Naji and Ananna still being stuck on the Isle of the Sky with the three impossible tasks left to complete to break the curse. Therefore, once a way off the Isle arrives, after making a new friend, Ananna and Naji must find a way to break the curse.

For me, The Pirate’s Curse wasn’t as good as the first book. The main reason for this was that I didn’t like Ananna as much. I felt that Ananna wasn’t as strong a character this time around. She was sulky and bitter at times and what I like about her character in The Assassin’s Curse, wasn’t present as often. She was still strong at times and showed leadership and bravery, but she got on my nerves occasionally. There were also times when her loyalty wavered a little, which annoyed me.

Naji was a character that I liked getting to know a bit better. It was good to see him open up more and see more of his good qualities such as his loyalty and bravery. I also liked that Naji was a realistic character. There were times when he would despair that the curse wouldn’t be broken, which I think we all would if we had to complete three impossible tasks. I also really enjoyed watching him become more accepting of the way he looked and less self-conscious.

The new characters were great additions to the story. Each had their own part to play and each were fairly different from the others. I also really enjoyed exploring the history of some of the established characters and finding out more about their pasts.

I really enjoyed the relationships. I think that they were all realistic. The romantic relationships were a little tough and rocky, and didn’t necessarily have the perfect ending. The relationship between Ananna and her parents was what I expected it to be like. The friendships were also realistic with their up and down moments, but some of them were also amusing.

Another reason that I didn’t like The Pirate’s Curse as much as the first book was that I found the plot to be more predictable. I think that this was because there was a certain convenience to the storyline that made it easier to guess what was to come. I felt that the tasks weren’t actually all that impossible and that they were accomplished neatly and conveniently such as knowing someone who just so happened to have an item to break the curse. It was still an enjoyable plotline, but the predictability took away from it.

I did still enjoy reading The Pirate’s Curse, but it did have a few flaws in it so I give it 3.5/5 stars.


Thursday, 27 June 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (#2)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.

The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus, #4)
At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.
Sorry that this is a day late.


Tuesday, 25 June 2013

Top Ten Tuesday (#2)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are asked to share their Top Ten list. This weeks topic is the top books we have read so far in 2013.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian SelznickPoison Study (Study, #1)Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (Morgan Rawlinson, #1)Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles #1)Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)The Assassin's Curse (The Assassin's Curse, #1)Merlin's Blade (The Merlin Spiral, #1)Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School, #1)

1. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
This was such an interesting way to tell a story! I felt that it was a beautifully written story with beautiful drawings!

2. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
This was a captivating young adult fantasy that I just couldn't put down. I loved the characters and the intriguing plot.

3. Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood 
This was a fun, fast-paced read! It was a really quirky and a great read that I really enjoyed and recommend to anyone in a reading slump.

4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
I unexpectedly loved this book. I really enjoyed the friendship between Rose and Lissa and the story just sucked me in!

5. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
I loved having Ethan as the narrator, not only because it was refreshing to have a male main character but he was also funny and witty.

6. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
This was a brilliant story! I loved the complexity of the story and how it kept me guessing until the very end!

7. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
I loved going back into the world of shadowhunters! I enjoyed the the characters more in this series compared to the Mortal Instruments.

8. The Assassin's Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke
This was such a great adventure story full of pirates, curses, assassins and quests!

9. Merlin's Blade by Robert Treskillard
This was a really interesting take on Merlin. I really enjoyed Merlin being a young guy and having it set before he met Arthur.

10. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
This was really my first venture into steampunk and I really enjoyed it!

I had more trouble than I thought I would picking ten. Seven I was definite about but then I really had to toss up which books I would put in. Hope you liked my list.


Up next: Waiting on Wednesday

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.

Series: Throne of Glass #2
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release date: August 27th 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Synopsis (from Goodreads):
After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.
Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king's bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she's given a task that could jeopardize everything she's come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon -- forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. 
Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?
It probably isn't a surprise that this book is my first book for Waiting on Wednesday, but I am really, really excited for this book to come out!


Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are asked to share the Top Ten list. This weeks topic is the Top Ten books on our summer, or winter as it is here in Australia, TBR list. 

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X, #1)The Pirate's Wish (The Assassin's Curse, #2)Pride and PrejudiceSense and SensibilityQuintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles, #3)Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Magic Study (Study, #2)Heart of Valour. L.J. SmithShadows of Myth
1. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
I read the first book of this series, Throne of Glass, last year and I have been eagerly waiting for this book to come out! I can't wait to read it!

2. Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead 
I received an ARC copy of this book, but I have yet to read it yet. I really like Richelle Mead's writing and I am really looking forward to reading this. 

3. The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke
So this is kind of cheating because I am currently reading this and I am about half-way through. I really loved the first book, The Assassin's Curse, and I am looking forward to finding out how this all ends. 

4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
This is a reread for me. I went to a play recently about Jane Austen and it featured some excerpts of her books and made me want to read this again.

5. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
I haven't read Sense and Sensibility yet but I absolutely loved the BBC miniseries and I really want to read this after the above mentioned play. 

6. Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta
I have read the first two books of the Lumatere Chronicles and I really, really want to know how it finishes, so as soon as the book is available in my local library I will be!

7. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
I read Divergent last year and started reading Insurgent but I got distracted, now I want to finish Insurgent before Allegiant comes out.

8. Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder
This is a book that I currently have on loan from my library and is the sequel to Poison Study, which I absolutely loved. 

9. Heart of Valor by L.J. Smith
This is another sequel that I have on loan from the library, which I have been waiting for a while to read!

10. Shadows of Myth by Rachel Lee
Another library book, this time one that I just happened to see on the shelf that I felt would be interesting. 

That's some of the books that I want to read this winter, but whether I will actually read these books is a little questionable. If you have read any of these books, let me know what you thought of them! What books are on your TBR?


Up next: Waiting on Wednesday.

Monday, 17 June 2013


I am so very sorry for my sudden and unexplained absences. Things got crazy quickly in my life but hopefully things are now going to be okay. I will not be posting any book reviews this week, as I have just started my job and I am moving houses, but I am going to start doing two memes that I am sure you have seen around the book blogging world. My reviews will now be on Mondays and Fridays and I now will no longer be doing Seven on Saturday.

What's happening on the blog this week?
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday
Wednesday: Waiting on Wednesday
Sunday: Wrap-up/Preview

Sorry again for my absence. Hope you have a great week!


Up next: Top Ten Tuesday.

Monday, 3 June 2013


Firstly, I have to apologize for missing Seven on Saturday and this post being late. I had a super busy weekend and didn't have the time or energy to write either posts, unfortunately. I also know that this coming week will be busy for me so it is going to be a slightly quieter week. I am also thinking of changing the schedule of my blog again, but I will talk about that more next Sunday.

What happened on the blog this week?
Tuesday - Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun
Thursday - Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

I received no books this week, nor did I buy or borrow any.

What will happen on the blog next week?
Tuesday - Review: The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke
Thursday - Review: Gameboard of the God's by Richelle Mead
Sunday - Wrap-up/Preview

Hope you all had a great week!


Up next - Review: The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Thursday, 30 May 2013

Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

Series: Morgan Rawlinson #1
Publisher: Berkley Trade
Published: March 6th 2007
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Source: Borrowed from a friend
Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Being sent to your room is one thing. But being sent to another country? 

Morgan's boyfriend dumped her on the last day of school - it seemed the only thing to do was to hack off her hair and dye the stubble orange. Unfortunately, Morgan's parents freaked and decided a change of scenery would do her good. So they're sending her off on a bike tour of Ireland. 
But Morgan gets more than she bargained for on the Emerald Isle - including a strange journey into some crazy, once upon a time corner of the past. There, she meets fairies, weefolk, and a hunky warrior-dude named Fergus, and figures that she's got some growing to do-and she doesn't just mean her hair.
Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (Morgan Rawlinson, #1)

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out is a great quick read, which was quirky and quite funny. I enjoyed reading this book and I often found myself laughing aloud at times throughout the story.

One thing that I really loved about the story was the main character Morgan. At the start of the story I did find her to be a little whiny and annoying, but that didn’t last too long. I loved how funny Morgan could be. She was blunt, witty and could be quite comical at times. She was also a strong character, who liked to face a challenge head-on, which I admired her for. I adored Colin, who could be just as witty and funny as Morgan, but who was more laid back. I was entertained by the banter between the two. I thought that the minor characters were good too, each one adding their own bit to the story which worked really well.

The story was fast paced. It didn’t take long for the action to happen, and everything that lead up to the action wasn’t lingered on for too long. I really enjoyed how action-packed this story was, it was all packed into such a short story, but yet there was a lot going on. The plot was full of twists and turns and half the time you didn’t know what was going on. There were certainly some amusing surprises. 

I liked the writing style, as well. I felt that it was unique to Morgan, and I hadn’t read anything like it before. It was almost like stream of consciousness from Morgan, but not quite. It worked well by adding more humour to the story.

Lastly my favourite part about this story was all the mythology and Irish legends. I have seemed to have accidently picked up quite a few books about Irish and Celtic legends and mythology recently, and I have been intrigued by it. I thought that it was well handled, with ancient warriors, fae and all the other magical creatures, including a talking horse.

Overall, Why I Let My Hair Grow Out was a fast paced, great read and I would recommend it if you are in a reading slump, because I think it would be a good book for getting out of one. I gave it 5/5 stars!


Up next - Seven on Saturday: Books I loved as a child.

Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Series: Courtlight #1
Publisher: Amazon Digital 
Published: April 10th 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy 
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review.

Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations. Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.  But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.
Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)

Sworn to Raise was an interesting book that I enjoyed reading. It was a reasonably well written, quick read that was full of magic and action.

I really liked the main character, Ciardis. I felt that she was a strong female character, who still remained fairly feminine, which to me doesn’t necessarily happen all that often in young adult books. I liked that despite her strength, she still had fears and she still had a vulnerable side. I also liked Sebastian, who was loyal, strong and willing to take a stand. I did find him a little arrogant at times, which annoyed me a little, but overall I still liked him. Damias was another character I liked because of how he mentored Ciardis and was what she needed. I didn’t really like Serena because I found her to be too shallow and vain for my liking.

I really enjoyed the magical elements in the story. I loved that there were different types of mages and that they varied so much in skills and strength. I felt that maybe this could have been explored a little bit more in the story, but maybe that is to come in the next book.

The plot was enjoyable and I thought that it was fairly unique. I hadn’t read a book that really covered what this story was about before. The problem that I had with the plot though was that it was a little simple and predictable. Not much really surprised me with the story and I was never really pushed to think about the story line. This did make for a quick and easy read, but I was wishing for a little more complexity.

I also felt that everything was convenient for Ciardis. For example, Ciardis just so happened to come across the only person who could get her out of her situation and have her offer Ciardis the way out. This happened quite regularly throughout the book and I was often sound sitting there rolling my eyes and going “of course she would happen to find that thing there, without really looking,” which did annoy me a little. I also felt that the ending was a little too neatly wrapped up.

Another issue I had with the story was the pacing. I felt that the story was too fast-paced. It was all action, action, action and there wasn’t any time for really processing what was going on. I think that this was one of the reasons that I found the story to be simple. I also think that it was one of the reasons that I didn’t really connect emotionally with the story. There was a point in the plot where I should have felt even a little bit upset but I hardly felt anything. I also would have liked there to be a little more exploration into the character’s past because I didn’t feel like we really learnt much about anyone.

Despite my issues with the book, I did really enjoy it and I can’t wait to read the next book. I give this book 4 stars. 


Up next - Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

Sunday, 26 May 2013


Another week has passed and it was a very busy one for me. I ride horses and there was a competition at one of my local Pony Clubs which I had working bees for and volunteered today. It meant a very early start for me today, but it was good fun and I got to do the vet check so I learnt heaps.

What happened on the blog this week?

I decided to lift my book buying ban this week and I bought five books. I also got one book for review. As always, click the picture to go to the Goodreads page.

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn (Eon, #1)The Queen's Fool (Tudors, #4)Greenwitch (The Dark is Rising, #3)Angels and Demons (Robert Langdon, #1)Seventh Son (Tales of Alvin Maker, #1)
I got two used books from my local op-shop and three new books. The books I bought were:
Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman
The Queen's Fool by Phillipa Gregory
Greenwitch by Susan Cooper
Angels and Demons by Dan Brown
Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card

I also received one book for review from Netgalley, that being:
The Tale of Mally Biddle
The Tale of Mallie Biddle by M.L. LeGette, thanks to Patchwork Press and the author.

What can you expect on the blog next week?
Tuesday - Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun
Thursday - Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood
Saturday - Seven on Saturday: Books that I loved as a child

Hope you all had a great week!


Up next - Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Saturday, 25 May 2013

Seven on Saturday

Seven on Sunday is where I will put a list of seven bookish things (e.g. My seven favourite book couples), with a new topic each week.

 The topic I choose this week was the seven books that I would want with me if I ever got stranded on a deserted island. I did cheat a little and count series as one book.
So the seven books I would want with me are:

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling series - I tend to reread this series at least once a year, so this would definitely be a must have for me. Plus it would take me a little while to get through it.
  2. Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis - As with the Harry Potter series, Chronicles of Narnia is a reread. I have reread this series a couple of times and each time it captures my imagination. 
  3. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien  - This is again here for the same reasons as above. I love this story and I always manage to pick up something new each time I read it. Again it is a fairly large read and will take me a little while to get through.
  4. Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody - See the past three reasons.
  5. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo - I haven't read this yet but I really want to and it is a massive book that would keep me occupied for a while.
  6. Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead - This is a series that I have started but that I haven't finished yet, but I really want to. I really enjoyed the first two books and it would be good to finish the series.
  7. The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta - This is for the same reason as the Vampire Academy series. I loved the first book and I really want to read Quintana of Charyn to know how everything is resolved!

What books would you want with you?


Up next: Wrap-up/Preview

Thursday, 23 May 2013

Review: Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Blood sings to blood, Froi . . . 
Those born last will make the first . . . 
For Charyn will be barren no more. 
Three years after the curse on Lumatere was lifted, Froi has found his home... Or so he believes...
Fiercely loyal to the Queen and Finnikin, Froi has been trained roughly and lovingly by the Guard sworn to protect the royal family, and has learned to control his quick temper. But when he is sent on a secretive mission to the kingdom of Charyn, nothing could have prepared him for what he finds. Here he encounters a damaged people who are not who they seem, and must unravel both the dark bonds of kinship and the mysteries of a half-mad Princess.
And in this barren and mysterious place, he will discover that there is a song sleeping in his blood, and though Froi would rather not, the time has come to listen.
Gripping and intense, complex and richly imagined, Froi of the Exiles is a dazzling sequel to Finnikin of the Rock, from the internationally best-selling and multi-award-winning author of Looking for Alibrandi, Saving Francesca, On the Jellicoe Road and The Piper's Son.

Froi of the Exiles (Lumatere Chronicles, #2)
Froi of the Exiles is the second of the Lumatere Chronicles. You can read my review for the first book, Finnikin of the Rock, here. Froi of the Exiles was a good follow up book, but didn’t quite live up to the first book for me.

Finnikin of the Rock was mainly told from Finnikin’s perspective however in Froi of the Exiles, as the title may suggest, the story was mainly told from Froi’s perspective. This made me a little nervous to start this book because Froi certainly wasn’t my favourite character in the first book and I was a little unsure I would connect with him. However all my worries were for nothing, I could connect to Froi and I loved learning a little bit more about how he thinks and feels. In saying that, my favourite chapters were those that weren’t from Froi’s perspective, but that is more because it involved my favourite characters.

Talking of characters, the new characters that were introduced in Froi of the Exiles were great. I loved Quintana’s complexity and duality. I also loved seeing her stubbornness and savagery. I pitied her but I admired how strong she stayed despite everything she had gone through. I absolutely adored Phaedra. I loved her kindness, her loyalty and her stubbornness. I felt like I could relate to her and I was always anxious to know about her story line. I loved how well written Gargarin, Arjuro and Lirah were, even if at times I didn’t like the characters and I can’t wait to know more about their storylines.

I found the plot was suspenseful and unpredictable. There were so many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming. Some of the twists were related to the major plotlines, but even some of the smaller character lines had some surprises that I didn’t see coming. I really enjoyed the depth of the story and the complexity kept it intriguing and kept me guessing.

I have to say that I love the way Melina Marchetta writes! I love the way that she is able to make readers feel the emotions of the characters. I love the way each character she writes has their own unique voice. I love the way she describes scenes and, particularly in this series, I love her world building. In saying that, I did have a little, and I mean teeny tiny, problem with the pacing of this book. I felt at times that it did drag on somewhat, but I still think that Marchetta is a genius.

Overall, Froi of the Exiles was a great book, and a really good follow up to Finnikin of the Rock. I had a few minor issues with the book so I gave it 4.5/5 stars!

I read this book for the Australian Women Writer's Challenge 2013 and the 2013 Sequel Challenge.


Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Review: Runes by Ednah Walters

Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.
Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.

Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about Torin. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only are she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life.

Runes is a book that takes elements of Norse mythology and places them in a modern day setting. I have always been intrigued by Norse mythology but I don’t know that much about it. I really liked this aspect of the story and it was great to learn a little more. It was a really intriguing storyline and I really enjoyed it.

I thought that the characters were well written. I found Raine was easy to connect to and she was a good main character. She was strong and she certainly wasn’t whiny. I thought that she acted realistically to all the crazy stuff that was going on in her life and I thought that she was a realistic character. I really liked Raine’s friendship with Cora and I loved Cora’s loyalty and also her humour. I am not really sure I like Eirik, he was fairly loyal but I felt that his character lacked a little depth. I loved how evil Maliina was and how twisted Andris was. I absolutely loved Torin St. James. He was badass, loyal and he was always there for Raine when she needed him.

As I said before, the storyline was intriguing. I found the plot to be convoluted and twisted with people who seemed to have their own agenda working for someone and people who seemed to be working for someone else having their own agenda. There were some great surprises in the plot, and it wasn’t predictable for me. It was complex and you could never really guess what was coming and what/who people were. The ending was really well done and a great way to set up for another book, even if it was a mean ending.

I really enjoyed the writing style. I found that the story was fast-paced and it was really well balanced between action scenes and scenes that built up the story. The story flowed really well and the writing style sucked you in. I also found the descriptions to be short, but detailed enough that you could picture everything vividly.

I only had one small problem with this book, and that was the love triangle. I did think that it was really well done, but I still didn’t like it. I really wanted her to end up with the guy she wasn’t with but I didn’t want that guy to get hurt. I felt that the love triangle was a little unnecessary, too. I think that the story would have worked well without it. In saying that, I think that it has been set up so that it can be resolved in a way where no one will get hurt.

Overall, this was an intriguing, quick read and I really enjoyed Runes. I rate 4.5/5 stars!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review.


Up next - Review: Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

Monday, 20 May 2013

Bout of Books Wrap-up

I am excited because not only did I finish my first ever read-a-thon but I completed my goal of reading four books! I did alter from my plan slightly, but I am still really happy that I succeeded! 

How did I differ from my plan, you might ask. Well I did plan on finishing Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta and Hood by Stephen R. Lawhead, but both books are quite long, and I am not that quick a reader. I didn't start Hood, but I did get part way through Froi of the exiles, and I am adding the pages I read into my total, I just decided to put it aside because I knew I wouldn't get it finished in time.

Through the DoorRunesSanctuary (Wicked Lovely: Desert Tales, #1)Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (Morgan Rawlinson, #1)

So the first book that I read for Bout of Books was Through the Door by Jodi McIsaac. I have already posted a review for this, which you can find here, and I gave it 3/5 stars.

The second book I read was Runes by Ednah Walters. I really enjoyed this book. It was a fairly easy read and it was an intriguing story line. I will be posting a review soon, but I gave it 4/5 stars!

The third book I read was a graphic novel, which I managed to read in the time it took me to catch a tram from the library to my house. The book was Sanctuary by Melissa Marr with the illustrations being done by Xian Nu Studios. It was my first ever graphic novel and I enjoyed it. The story was interesting, except maybe a bit too much romance and not enough faeries for me, and I thought that the graphics were pretty good. I gave it 3/5 stars!

The last book I read for Bout of Books was Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood. I really loved this story. It was funny, a little quirky and very funny! I gave it 5/5 stars and I will have a review for it up soon!

So overall, I reached my goal of four books, which added up to 1077 pages read! I really enjoyed my first ever read-a-thon and I will definitely have to participate in one again!

If you participated I hope you did well and reached your goals!

P.S. Click the picture is you would like to go to the Goodreads page for each book!


Up next - Review: Runes by Ednah Walters.