Melinda's favourites book montage

The Mark of Athena
The Son of Neptune
The Lost Hero
The Last Olympian
The Battle of the Labyrinth
The Titan's Curse
The Sea of Monsters
The Lightning Thief
Throne of Glass
City of Glass
The Red Pyramid
City of Ashes
City of Bones
The Golden Door
The Farseekers
The Poison Diaries
Catching Fire
The Hunger Games

Melinda's favorite books »

Sunday, 30 June 2013


Life has gotten busy recently, and I also haven't had much time to do anything else that I love, such as writing and art stuff, so I have decided to put this blog on hiatus. It is likely that I will never come back, but I want to  keep it open just in case I want to start it up again in the future. I have really enjoyed blogging, and I will still read the books that I read on my Goodreads, but I probably won't read every book that I read, and I won't read as often. You can still contact me via my email and I will keep my twitter active. Thanks for sticking with me, it's been fun!


Friday, 28 June 2013

Review: The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Series: The Assassin's Curse #2
Publisher: Strange Chemistry
Published date: June 18th 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via, in exchange for a fair review.
Previous series reviews: The Assassin's Curse
Synopsis (from Goodreads):
After setting out to break the curse that binds them together, the pirate Ananna and the assassin Naji find themselves stranded on an enchanted island in the north with nothing but a sword, their wits, and the secret to breaking the curse: complete three impossible tasks. With the help of their friend Marjani and a rather unusual ally, Ananna and Naji make their way south again, seeking what seems to be beyond their reach.
Unfortunately, Naji has enemies from the shadowy world known as the Mists, and Ananna must still face the repercussions of going up against the Pirate Confederation. Together, Naji and Ananna must break the curse, escape their enemies — and come to terms with their growing romantic attraction.
The Pirate's Wish (The Assassin's Curse, #2)

So it has been a little while since I have actually written a review so I apologise if I am a little rusty. Before I begin, just a little warning that this will contain spoilers for the first book of the series. I read The Assassin’s Curse earlier in the year and I really enjoyed it, so I had been really looking forward to reading this.

This started off where The Assassin’s Curse left off, with Naji and Ananna still being stuck on the Isle of the Sky with the three impossible tasks left to complete to break the curse. Therefore, once a way off the Isle arrives, after making a new friend, Ananna and Naji must find a way to break the curse.

For me, The Pirate’s Curse wasn’t as good as the first book. The main reason for this was that I didn’t like Ananna as much. I felt that Ananna wasn’t as strong a character this time around. She was sulky and bitter at times and what I like about her character in The Assassin’s Curse, wasn’t present as often. She was still strong at times and showed leadership and bravery, but she got on my nerves occasionally. There were also times when her loyalty wavered a little, which annoyed me.

Naji was a character that I liked getting to know a bit better. It was good to see him open up more and see more of his good qualities such as his loyalty and bravery. I also liked that Naji was a realistic character. There were times when he would despair that the curse wouldn’t be broken, which I think we all would if we had to complete three impossible tasks. I also really enjoyed watching him become more accepting of the way he looked and less self-conscious.

The new characters were great additions to the story. Each had their own part to play and each were fairly different from the others. I also really enjoyed exploring the history of some of the established characters and finding out more about their pasts.

I really enjoyed the relationships. I think that they were all realistic. The romantic relationships were a little tough and rocky, and didn’t necessarily have the perfect ending. The relationship between Ananna and her parents was what I expected it to be like. The friendships were also realistic with their up and down moments, but some of them were also amusing.

Another reason that I didn’t like The Pirate’s Curse as much as the first book was that I found the plot to be more predictable. I think that this was because there was a certain convenience to the storyline that made it easier to guess what was to come. I felt that the tasks weren’t actually all that impossible and that they were accomplished neatly and conveniently such as knowing someone who just so happened to have an item to break the curse. It was still an enjoyable plotline, but the predictability took away from it.

I did still enjoy reading The Pirate’s Curse, but it did have a few flaws in it so I give it 3.5/5 stars.


Thursday, 27 June 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (#2)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.

The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus, #4)
At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.
Sorry that this is a day late.


Tuesday, 25 June 2013

Top Ten Tuesday (#2)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are asked to share their Top Ten list. This weeks topic is the top books we have read so far in 2013.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian SelznickPoison Study (Study, #1)Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (Morgan Rawlinson, #1)Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles #1)Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)The Assassin's Curse (The Assassin's Curse, #1)Merlin's Blade (The Merlin Spiral, #1)Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School, #1)

1. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
This was such an interesting way to tell a story! I felt that it was a beautifully written story with beautiful drawings!

2. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
This was a captivating young adult fantasy that I just couldn't put down. I loved the characters and the intriguing plot.

3. Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood 
This was a fun, fast-paced read! It was a really quirky and a great read that I really enjoyed and recommend to anyone in a reading slump.

4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
I unexpectedly loved this book. I really enjoyed the friendship between Rose and Lissa and the story just sucked me in!

5. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
I loved having Ethan as the narrator, not only because it was refreshing to have a male main character but he was also funny and witty.

6. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
This was a brilliant story! I loved the complexity of the story and how it kept me guessing until the very end!

7. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
I loved going back into the world of shadowhunters! I enjoyed the the characters more in this series compared to the Mortal Instruments.

8. The Assassin's Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke
This was such a great adventure story full of pirates, curses, assassins and quests!

9. Merlin's Blade by Robert Treskillard
This was a really interesting take on Merlin. I really enjoyed Merlin being a young guy and having it set before he met Arthur.

10. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
This was really my first venture into steampunk and I really enjoyed it!

I had more trouble than I thought I would picking ten. Seven I was definite about but then I really had to toss up which books I would put in. Hope you liked my list.


Up next: Waiting on Wednesday

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.

Series: Throne of Glass #2
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release date: August 27th 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Synopsis (from Goodreads):
After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.
Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king's bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she's given a task that could jeopardize everything she's come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon -- forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. 
Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?
It probably isn't a surprise that this book is my first book for Waiting on Wednesday, but I am really, really excited for this book to come out!


Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish where bloggers are asked to share the Top Ten list. This weeks topic is the Top Ten books on our summer, or winter as it is here in Australia, TBR list. 

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)Gameboard of the Gods (Age of X, #1)The Pirate's Wish (The Assassin's Curse, #2)Pride and PrejudiceSense and SensibilityQuintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles, #3)Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Magic Study (Study, #2)Heart of Valour. L.J. SmithShadows of Myth
1. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
I read the first book of this series, Throne of Glass, last year and I have been eagerly waiting for this book to come out! I can't wait to read it!

2. Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead 
I received an ARC copy of this book, but I have yet to read it yet. I really like Richelle Mead's writing and I am really looking forward to reading this. 

3. The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke
So this is kind of cheating because I am currently reading this and I am about half-way through. I really loved the first book, The Assassin's Curse, and I am looking forward to finding out how this all ends. 

4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
This is a reread for me. I went to a play recently about Jane Austen and it featured some excerpts of her books and made me want to read this again.

5. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
I haven't read Sense and Sensibility yet but I absolutely loved the BBC miniseries and I really want to read this after the above mentioned play. 

6. Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta
I have read the first two books of the Lumatere Chronicles and I really, really want to know how it finishes, so as soon as the book is available in my local library I will be!

7. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
I read Divergent last year and started reading Insurgent but I got distracted, now I want to finish Insurgent before Allegiant comes out.

8. Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder
This is a book that I currently have on loan from my library and is the sequel to Poison Study, which I absolutely loved. 

9. Heart of Valor by L.J. Smith
This is another sequel that I have on loan from the library, which I have been waiting for a while to read!

10. Shadows of Myth by Rachel Lee
Another library book, this time one that I just happened to see on the shelf that I felt would be interesting. 

That's some of the books that I want to read this winter, but whether I will actually read these books is a little questionable. If you have read any of these books, let me know what you thought of them! What books are on your TBR?


Up next: Waiting on Wednesday.

Monday, 17 June 2013


I am so very sorry for my sudden and unexplained absences. Things got crazy quickly in my life but hopefully things are now going to be okay. I will not be posting any book reviews this week, as I have just started my job and I am moving houses, but I am going to start doing two memes that I am sure you have seen around the book blogging world. My reviews will now be on Mondays and Fridays and I now will no longer be doing Seven on Saturday.

What's happening on the blog this week?
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday
Wednesday: Waiting on Wednesday
Sunday: Wrap-up/Preview

Sorry again for my absence. Hope you have a great week!


Up next: Top Ten Tuesday.

Monday, 3 June 2013


Firstly, I have to apologize for missing Seven on Saturday and this post being late. I had a super busy weekend and didn't have the time or energy to write either posts, unfortunately. I also know that this coming week will be busy for me so it is going to be a slightly quieter week. I am also thinking of changing the schedule of my blog again, but I will talk about that more next Sunday.

What happened on the blog this week?
Tuesday - Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun
Thursday - Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

I received no books this week, nor did I buy or borrow any.

What will happen on the blog next week?
Tuesday - Review: The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke
Thursday - Review: Gameboard of the God's by Richelle Mead
Sunday - Wrap-up/Preview

Hope you all had a great week!


Up next - Review: The Pirate's Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Thursday, 30 May 2013

Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood

Series: Morgan Rawlinson #1
Publisher: Berkley Trade
Published: March 6th 2007
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Source: Borrowed from a friend
Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Being sent to your room is one thing. But being sent to another country? 

Morgan's boyfriend dumped her on the last day of school - it seemed the only thing to do was to hack off her hair and dye the stubble orange. Unfortunately, Morgan's parents freaked and decided a change of scenery would do her good. So they're sending her off on a bike tour of Ireland. 
But Morgan gets more than she bargained for on the Emerald Isle - including a strange journey into some crazy, once upon a time corner of the past. There, she meets fairies, weefolk, and a hunky warrior-dude named Fergus, and figures that she's got some growing to do-and she doesn't just mean her hair.
Why I Let My Hair Grow Out (Morgan Rawlinson, #1)

Why I Let My Hair Grow Out is a great quick read, which was quirky and quite funny. I enjoyed reading this book and I often found myself laughing aloud at times throughout the story.

One thing that I really loved about the story was the main character Morgan. At the start of the story I did find her to be a little whiny and annoying, but that didn’t last too long. I loved how funny Morgan could be. She was blunt, witty and could be quite comical at times. She was also a strong character, who liked to face a challenge head-on, which I admired her for. I adored Colin, who could be just as witty and funny as Morgan, but who was more laid back. I was entertained by the banter between the two. I thought that the minor characters were good too, each one adding their own bit to the story which worked really well.

The story was fast paced. It didn’t take long for the action to happen, and everything that lead up to the action wasn’t lingered on for too long. I really enjoyed how action-packed this story was, it was all packed into such a short story, but yet there was a lot going on. The plot was full of twists and turns and half the time you didn’t know what was going on. There were certainly some amusing surprises. 

I liked the writing style, as well. I felt that it was unique to Morgan, and I hadn’t read anything like it before. It was almost like stream of consciousness from Morgan, but not quite. It worked well by adding more humour to the story.

Lastly my favourite part about this story was all the mythology and Irish legends. I have seemed to have accidently picked up quite a few books about Irish and Celtic legends and mythology recently, and I have been intrigued by it. I thought that it was well handled, with ancient warriors, fae and all the other magical creatures, including a talking horse.

Overall, Why I Let My Hair Grow Out was a fast paced, great read and I would recommend it if you are in a reading slump, because I think it would be a good book for getting out of one. I gave it 5/5 stars!


Up next - Seven on Saturday: Books I loved as a child.

Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Series: Courtlight #1
Publisher: Amazon Digital 
Published: April 10th 2013
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy 
Source: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review.

Synopsis (from Goodreads)
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations. Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.  But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.
Sworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)

Sworn to Raise was an interesting book that I enjoyed reading. It was a reasonably well written, quick read that was full of magic and action.

I really liked the main character, Ciardis. I felt that she was a strong female character, who still remained fairly feminine, which to me doesn’t necessarily happen all that often in young adult books. I liked that despite her strength, she still had fears and she still had a vulnerable side. I also liked Sebastian, who was loyal, strong and willing to take a stand. I did find him a little arrogant at times, which annoyed me a little, but overall I still liked him. Damias was another character I liked because of how he mentored Ciardis and was what she needed. I didn’t really like Serena because I found her to be too shallow and vain for my liking.

I really enjoyed the magical elements in the story. I loved that there were different types of mages and that they varied so much in skills and strength. I felt that maybe this could have been explored a little bit more in the story, but maybe that is to come in the next book.

The plot was enjoyable and I thought that it was fairly unique. I hadn’t read a book that really covered what this story was about before. The problem that I had with the plot though was that it was a little simple and predictable. Not much really surprised me with the story and I was never really pushed to think about the story line. This did make for a quick and easy read, but I was wishing for a little more complexity.

I also felt that everything was convenient for Ciardis. For example, Ciardis just so happened to come across the only person who could get her out of her situation and have her offer Ciardis the way out. This happened quite regularly throughout the book and I was often sound sitting there rolling my eyes and going “of course she would happen to find that thing there, without really looking,” which did annoy me a little. I also felt that the ending was a little too neatly wrapped up.

Another issue I had with the story was the pacing. I felt that the story was too fast-paced. It was all action, action, action and there wasn’t any time for really processing what was going on. I think that this was one of the reasons that I found the story to be simple. I also think that it was one of the reasons that I didn’t really connect emotionally with the story. There was a point in the plot where I should have felt even a little bit upset but I hardly felt anything. I also would have liked there to be a little more exploration into the character’s past because I didn’t feel like we really learnt much about anyone.

Despite my issues with the book, I did really enjoy it and I can’t wait to read the next book. I give this book 4 stars. 


Up next - Review: Why I Let My Hair Grow Out by Maryrose Wood